News & Events

Calendar of Events

School News

Valued Voices
Exciting Choices


NA-TV completed the fall 2021 season broadcasting 53 games, a single-season record for the student-led channel.

Those games started in the sweltering August heat and ran all the way through the VISAA field hockey state championship final November 13 in Richmond, where Norfolk Academy won the crown.   

NA-TV broadcasts varsity athletics contests throughout the school year with students handling announcing duties, camera work, halftime announcements, and technical aspects of the productions. The events are available to watch through the athletics pages on the Norfolk Academy website. A number of NA-TV students have gone on to participate in communications productions in college.

Captains Emma Fix '22, Sophia Thompson '22, and Averell Stith '22 led the fall broadcast team, along with co-captains Tal Zach '22 and Henry Martin '22. Ed Patterson, who teaches film in the Upper School, is the teacher-coach guiding the team. Robbie Adams serves as the primary play-by-play announcer, working with students who provide commentary.

This year's team did an outstanding job balancing many responsibilities, Mr. Patterson said. Students were involved not only in the record number of broadcasts but also challenging academic schedules and other extracurricular activities. Several were involved with the Fall Play and some were managing athletics teams.

The team broadcast more than 5,000 minutes of action in the fall season to 19 countries including Bolivia, Ireland, Germany, the Netherlands, France, Italy, India, the United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh, Australia, and New Zealand. Viewers tuned in from 42 states in the United States, with more than 11,500 views from almost 4,100 different web addresses.

Along with the captains and co-captains, the fall team included these 17 members:

Reagan Bandy
Kendall Pagach
James Wilson
Foster Kimple
Brennan Stacy
James Lonergan
Michael Carofino
Srivarun Hathwar
Micah Baum
Eliza Blythe
Annabelle Flisk
Sarah Morolari
Gavin Wang
David Denson
Joe Bakkar
Dominic Villafranca
Taran Jeevan


Watch every NA-TV broadcast:


Other News