News & Events

Valued Voices
Exciting Choices


Headmaster Dennis Manning served as chair of the 56th Annual Tidewater Humanitarian Awards (Virtual) Dinner, held by the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities.

The annual gala was planned for March but rescheduled because of the COVID-19 pandemic to a virtual event on August 26. It featured a videotaped program of the awards and speeches by the honorees. Mr. Manning opened the event, and Barbara Hamm Lee, executive producer of WHRV's Another View, was the emcee.

Recipients of humanitarian awards were as follows: Sharon S. Goodwyn; Jay M. Klebanoff (an Academy parent); Toiya A. Sosa; and James M. Wood Jr. 

Amy K. Milligan, a professor at Old Dominion University who is director of the university's Institute of Jewish Studies and interfaith understanding, won the Jeffrey B. Spence Award for Interfaith Understanding; the award is bestowed “on occasion" by the VCIC for exceptional interfaith work.

The Association of American Physicians of Indian Origin, Hampton Roads won the Distinguished Merit Award.

Norfolk Academy has worked with the VCIC over many years on diversity and equity issues, including professional development workshops for faculty and staff this fall.


Other News