News & Events

Calendar of Events

School News

Valued Voices
Exciting Choices

Fine Arts Awards, Dance

The Fine Arts Department announced the annual awards for outstanding achievement in many aspects of the fine arts. The following students received recognition:

BAND AWARD to Jens Islev-Petersen '21: Given to the instrumentalist who has shown outstanding dedication and ability in the upper school band program.

ORCHESTRA AWARD to Alex Barton '23: Given to students who have, throughout their upper school career, demonstrated consistent professionalism in their approach to working and performing in a large musical ensemble.

VISUAL ARTS AWARD to Annalee Marling '23, Jack Tignor '22, and Claire Vu '22: Given to the students who, inside and outside of class, strive to improve their natural creativity, do projects of their own design, and encourage others by their focused example.

FILM STUDIES AWARD to Jackson Weis '21, Sophie Patch '23, and Robert Lucas '21: Given to students who have demonstrated outstanding knowledge, ability, and disciplinary achievement in the field of film studies and media scholarship.

DANCE AWARD to Madalyn Mejia '22: Given in recognition of leadership, loyalty, integrity, and diligence.

MOST IMPROVED DANCE TEAM MEMBER to Phoebe Montagna '21: Given to the dancer or dancers who have worked consistently to improve their skills and technique through an exceptional work ethic.

THE ACADEMY PLAYERS AWARD to Caroline Godwin '21, Christopher Asuncion '21, Blake Brown '21, and Finley Lemma '21: Presented to Senior Students for their commitment, creative growth, and approach to working and performing within an ensemble in the Fall Play.

BEHIND-THE-SCENES AWARD to Hannah Marks '21 and Elizabeth Taddeo '21: Given to a student or students who have shown outstanding support of the many technical, visual, or scenic elements that go into creating a production.

MUSICAL THEATER AWARD to Ella Davis '21, Erin Clayton '21, and Virginia Ames Tillar '21: Given to senior students in recognition of creative accomplishments, originality, and diligence in the pursuit of excellence in the genre of musical theater.

Fine Arts Director Jeff Danielson's presentation of the Fine Arts Association Award reflected the unique challenges of delivering performances and visual arts during a pandemic year, when audiences could not visit the school's theaters or art gallery. The award is given to faculty or staff “in recognition of their support, leadership, and contribution to the Academy’s Performing and Visual Arts Program." Throughout the months when live shows couldn't be done, the school has released abundant music, dance, drama, and gallery shows via social media and the website, in partnership with the Communications Office. Saluting that teamwork, Mr. Danielson gave the award to the “highly competent and understanding Communications Team" --  Esther Diskin, Kim Yager, and Mike Connors.

For its part, the Communications team is profoundly grateful to be able to share the uplifting work of such skilled and creative actors, musicians, dancers, and artists, who are guided in their many accomplishments by dedicated and talented faculty. Students, take a bow! Bravissimo!

Watch this year's Academy Dancers and drama productions!


Other News

Mr. Manning