News & Events

Valued Voices
Exciting Choices


A whopping 25 members of Norfolk Academy's Class of 2023 have received a prestigious honor from the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The seniors have been named Commended Students, meaning they placed among the top 50,000 scorers nationwide who entered the Scholarship Program competition by taking the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” a program spokesperson said in a news release. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Throughout the entire nation, only about 34,000 students earned this honor.

The 25 commended Academy students, in alphabetical order:

  • Antonia Baudoin
  • Micah Baum
  • Harrison Brown
  • Bella Burr
  • Quinn Carroll
  • Annabelle Dyer
  • Jesse Fine
  • Ruby Garrison
  • Rylan Goss
  • Noah Howell
  • Owen Johnson
  • Kadyn Johnson-Smith
  • Mitchell Moore
  • Davis Ottinger
  • Calla Parvin
  • Libby Pierce
  • Alden Roberts
  • Annamarie Russell
  • James Savage
  • Rebecca Schill
  • Sydney Vest
  • Fred Ward
  • Will Ward
  • Matthew Warsaw
  • Jennifer Yuan


Other News