Upper School Math Teacher Meg Mann and Students Receive Fine Arts Day Awards

Congratulations to Upper School Math Teacher Mrs. Meg Mann, who received the Fine Arts Association Award, given annually to a member of the Norfolk Academy faculty, adjunct faculty, or staff  “in recognition of their support, leadership, and contribution to the Academy’s Performing and Visual Arts Program – the very heart and soul of our school.” Mrs. Mann also coordinates all of the community service and club activities in the Upper School, and she serves as an advisor to the Community Service Board.

Congratulations to the following students for the awards they received in recognition of their contributions to the vitality of the fine arts at our school:

Alek Sas ’18 and Tyler Tabor ’18, who received the Band Award for the instrumentalists who have shown outstanding dedication and ability in the upper school band program.

Katie Post ’20 and Zach Suttle ’19, who received the Orchestra Award for students who have, throughout their upper school career, demonstrated consistent professionalism in their approach to working and performing in a large musical ensemble.

Maiya Foleck ’19 and Kevin Duan ’19, who received the Choral Award for vocalists who have shown outstanding dedication and vocal ability.

Destin Rodgers ’19, who received the Visual Arts Award for the student who, inside and outside of class, strives to improve their natural creativity, do projects of their own design, and encourage others by their focused example.

Hans Christoffersen ’18, who received the Art History Award, given to a student who demonstrates passion for and an exceptional ability in the study of art history.

Madeleine Munn ’19 and Juliette Benedetto ’18, who received the Film Studies Award for students who have demonstrated outstanding knowledge, ability, and disciplinary achievement in the field of film studies and media scholarship.        

Sophia Burke ’18,  Mary Alice Russell ’18, Alayah McIntosh ’18, Tori Walker ’18, and  Erica Washington ’18, who received the Dance Award in recognition of leadership, loyalty, integrity, and diligence.

Hayden Jones ’18 and Emma Christoffersen ’18, who received the Most Improved Dance Team Member Award for dancers who have worked consistently to improve their skills and technique through an exceptional work ethic.

Carissa Ferguson ’18, who received The Academy Players Award for commitment and  consistency in the development of the drama productions.

Kerri Thornton ’20 and Noah DeLorenzo ’20, who received the Behind-the-Scenes Award for students who have shown outstanding support of the many technical, visual, or scenic elements that go into creating a production.

Alek Sas ’18, Tori Walker ’18, Fiona Murchake ’18, and Halle Stoney ’18, who received the Musical Theater Award,  given to senior students in recognition of creative accomplishments, originality, and diligence in the pursuit of excellence in the genre of musical theater.

Erica Washington ’18, who received the “Outstanding Newcomer to the Winter Musical” Award, for a student who has demonstrated leadership, integrity, and the pursuit of excellence in their first musical production.